November 3, 2022

We the Peoples 2022

United Nations Foundation

“Our progress is a choice.”

Photo Gallery

The We the Peoples Awards is an opportunity to hear from the world’s leading changemakers, connect with the UN, and explore the frontiers of global impact. The awards support the UN Foundation’s work to accelerate the SDGs, raise climate ambition, and reimagine multilateral cooperation for a better and fairer future.

Each year we present the following awards:

  • The Champion for Global Change Award to recognize enlightened leadership in working towards a more prosperous and equitable world for us all
  • The UN Heroes Award to honor the extraordinary compassion, courage, and determination of UN frontline workers
  • The SDG Vanguard Award to recognize leaders whose work and impact reflects the urgency of the SDG agenda and the imperative to leave no one behind.

And this year, we also inaugurate a new Goal 17 Innovation in Partnership Award to recognize the impact of strategic partnership toward achieving the Goals.

Learn more about We the Peoples and see the exceptional honorees we are celebrating in 2022 below.


Hon. Mia Amor Mottley, SC, MP

Prime Minister of Barbados; Co-Chair of the Sustainable Development Goals Advocates Group

Champion for Global Change Award

Forest Whitaker

Artist, social activist, Founder and CEO of the Whitaker Peace & Development Initiative, UNESCO Special Envoy for Peace and Reconciliation and SDG Advocate

SDG Vanguard Award

Mia Kami

Artist and Climate Justice Activist

SDG Vanguard Award

United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)

The UN agency aimed at improving reproductive and maternal health worldwide

United Nations Heroes Award

Peace on Purpose | Lululemon

Goal 17 Innovation in Partnership Award

Our Partners