November 16, 2023

We the Peoples 2023

United Nations Foundation



The We the Peoples Awards is an opportunity to hear from the world’s leading changemakers, connect with the UN, and explore the frontiers of global impact. The awards support the UN Foundation’s work to accelerate the SDGs, raise climate ambition, and reimagine multilateral cooperation for a better and fairer future.

In 2023, UN Foundation presented the following awards:

  • The Champion for Global Change Award to recognize enlightened leadership in working towards a more prosperous and equitable world for us all.
  • The UN Heroes Award to honor the extraordinary compassion, courage, and determination of UN frontline workers.
  • The SDG Vanguard Award to recognize leaders whose work and impact reflects the urgency of the SDG agenda and the imperative to leave no one behind.
  • The Goal 17 Innovation in Partnership Award to recognize the impact of strategic partnership toward achieving the Goals.
  • The Leadership for a Better World Award honors extraordinary leaders across sectors, whose work creates a more sustainable world.

Learn more about We the Peoples.


H.E. Amina J. Mohammed

UN Deputy Secretary-General

Champion for Global Change Award

Jack and Laura Dangermond

President and Vice President of Esri

Goal 17 Innovation in Partnership Award

Hickmatu Leigh

Photographer and Purposeful Artist in Residence

SDG Vanguard Award

Sara Menker

Founder and CEO of Gro Intelligence

SDG Vanguard Award

Dr. Fisk Johnson

Chairman and CEO of SC Johnson

Leadership for a Better World Award

Black Sea Initiative

UN Heroes Award

Our Partners