Foundation Presidents Commend Secretary of State Clinton on Speech Marking the Fifteenth Anniversary of the UN International Conference on Population and Development

January 8, 2010


Megan Rabbitt

We, the Presidents of the foundations listed below, wish to extend our appreciation to Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton for her speech marking the fifteenth anniversary of the International Conference on Population and Development (ICPD) and for her continued leadership on global reproductive health. The fifteenth anniversary of ICPD is an opportunity to articulate a way forward to reach the ICPD goals, as well as the goals of the UN Fourth World Conference on Women in Beijing and the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).

When representatives from the world’s nations met in Cairo for ICPD in 1994, they affirmed “the basic right of all couples and individuals to decide freely and responsibly the number, spacing and timing of their children and to have the information and means to do so, and the right to attain the highest standard of sexual and reproductive health.”

In order for the United States to honor its commitment to the achievement of these rights worldwide, we recognize the need for a renewed investment in contraception and family planning services; maternal health to ensure healthy pregnancies and safe childbirth; prevention of sexually transmitted diseases, including HIV; and medically-accurate sexuality education. A renewed commitment to and investment in reproductive health would save lives, improve global health outcomes, and spur progress toward the other MDGs.

Secretary Clinton and the Obama Administration continue to be invaluable partners in our work. We look forward to cooperation in achieving universal access to reproductive health.


Paul Brest
President, The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation

Ellen Dorsey
Executive Director, Wallace Global Fund

Carol S. Larson
President, The David and Lucile Packard Foundation

Jeff Raikes
Chief Executive Officer, The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Vicki Sant
President, The Summit Foundation

Luis A. Ubiñas
President, Ford Foundation

Timothy E. Wirth
President, United Nations Foundation