Deadline for World Heritage Photo Contest Fast Approaching

Washington, D.C.

January 30, 2007


Megan Rabbitt

The United Nations Foundation (UN Foundation) is calling on travel lovers to enter the first World Heritage photo contest created by Friends of World Heritage (, a grassroots initiative of the UN Foundation with the UNESCO World Heritage Centre and Expedia, Inc. to promote World Heritage conservation and responsible tourism. Hundreds of photos of incredible World Heritage sites around the globe have already been submitted, but there’s still time for travelers to enter. The deadline is less than five weeks away.

World Heritage Photo Contest

Grand prize: An all-inclusive trip for two, including airfare, to Mexico’s spectacular Yucatán Peninsula. The winner will spend 8 days/7 nights exploring three World Heritage sites — Uxmal, Chichen Itza, and Campeche City.

Second prize: Two free round-trip air tickets to Merida, Mexico from many U.S. destinations.

Third prize: One flight to Merida, Mexico from many U.S. destinations.

Prizes are sponsored by the Mexico Tourism Board and the Mayaland Resorts Group.

Visit to submit photos and to share unforgettable experiences. Only digital images will be accepted.

Submissions will be accepted through March 1, 2007; winners will be announced by mid-April 2007.

Press inquires should be directed to Amy DiElsi at 202-419-3230 or


About Friends of World Heritage
Friends of World Heritage is a grassroots initiative dedicated to raising awareness about the importance of protecting World Heritage, promoting sustainable development, offering ways to explore these sites through sustainable travel, and raising funds to support projects in communities that depend on World Heritage sites. Friends of World Heritage was created by the United Nations Foundation and its partners are: Expedia, Inc. and UNESCO’s World Heritage Centre. To learn more, visit

About World Heritage
World Heritage sites are places around the world that have been internationally recognized for their outstanding value as natural and cultural treasures. All World Heritage sites are protected by the 1972 UNESCO World Heritage Convention, signed to date by 183 countries and administered by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), making it one of the most universal international legal instruments for the protection of cultural and natural heritage. There are currently 830 World Heritage sites (644 cultural, 162 natural and 24 mixed properties) in 138 countries. For a complete list of sites, visit

About the United Nations Foundation
The UN Foundation was created in 1998 with entrepreneur and philanthropist Ted Turner’s historic $1 billion gift to support UN causes and activities. The UN Foundation builds and implements public-private partnerships to address the world’s most pressing problems and also works to broaden support for the UN through advocacy and public outreach. The UN Foundation is a public charity.